The institute investigates human-pathogenic viruses. The aim of the institute is to understand the molecular causes of virus-related diseases and to develop innovative strategies against viral infections.

HPI_Vorderansicht

The HPI is at the center of the latest basic biomedical research and enjoys high international acceptance. The viruses investigated at the HPI are spread worldwide and cause millions of fatal diseases every year - with an increasing tendency. Therefore, HPI's research is of great medical and health policy relevance.

The basic research focuses on the biology of human pathogenic viruses, such as adenoviruses, hepatitis viruses, herpes viruses, influenza viruses and HI viruses as well as the pathogenesis of the diseases caused by them. The HPI's research priorities are divided into two program areas "Molecular mechanisms of virus pathogenesis" and "Innovative therapeutic approaches", which encompass research into human pathogenic viruses and also focus on the translational aspect of basic virological research at the HPI. The common goal of the program areas is the translational transfer of basic research into preclinical questions and innovative antiviral strategies.

The homepage of the institute can be found here.

Das Heinrich-Pette-Institut erforscht human-pathogene Viren. Das Ziel des Instituts ist es, die molekularen Ursachen Virus-bedingter Erkrankungen zu verstehen und innovative Strategien gegen virale Infektionen zu entwickeln.

HPI_VorderansichtDas HPI bewegt sich im Zentrum aktuellster biomedizinischer Grundlagenforschung und genießt hohe internationale Akzeptanz. Die im HPI erforschten Virusarten sind weltweit verbreitet und verursachen jährlich Millionen tödlich verlaufender Erkrankungen - mit steigender Tendenz. Daher ist die Forschungsarbeit des HPI von großer medizinischer und gesundheitspolitischer Relevanz.

Im Zentrum der Grundlagenforschung stehen die Biologie humanpathogener Virusarten, wie z.B. Adeno-, Hepatitis-, Herpes-, Influenza-Viren und HI-Viren sowie die Pathogenese der dadurch verursachten Erkrankungen. Die Forschungsschwerpunkte des HPI gliedern sich dabei in die zwei Programmbereiche „Molekulare Mechanismen der Viruspathogenese“ und „Innovative Therapieansätze“, welche die Erforschung humanpathogener Viren umfassen und erstmalig auch den translatorischen Aspekt der virologischen Grundlagenforschung am HPI in den Vordergrund stellen. Gemeinsames Ziel der Programmbereiche ist die translatorische Überführung der Grundlagenforschung in präklinische Fragestellungen und innovative antivirale Strategien.

Zur Homepage des Heinrich-Pette-Instituts gelangen Sie hier.