Human infectious agents cause the most deaths worldwide. In 2005, three Leibniz Research Institutes in Northern Germany founded the Leibniz Center Infection (LCI) - a strategic alliance to conduct research on highly relevant infectious diseases.

The Bernhard Nocht Institute for Tropical Medicine, the Research Center Borstel – Leibniz Lung Center and the Heinrich Pette Institute, Leibniz Institute for Experimental Virology combine over 200 years of excellent infection research. Together, the world-renowned institutes employ approximately 400 scientists who are dedicated to research parasitic, bacterial and virus-associated infectious diseases. The LCI makes use of technical synergies and benefits from the local proximity of the partner institutes, which enables rapid scientific and methodological exchange.

The LCI Research Alliance combines regional competencies and international exchange between the Leibniz Institutes, surrounding scientific institutions and universities. Thus, the LCI sustainably strengthens infection research in the Hamburg metropolitan region.

 

 

Download LCI Flyer

**Save the date**

The next LCI Symposium "Future strategies to overcome antimicrobial resistance" will be held at the BNITM on January 23 & 24, 2020. More info and registration HERE.

Humane Infektionserreger verursachen weltweit die meisten Todesfälle. Drei norddeutsche Leibniz-Forschungsinstitute gründeten 2005 das Leibniz-Zentrum für Infektionsforschung (LCI) - eine strategische Allianz, die sich der Erforschung der wichtigsten Infektionskrankheiten widmet.

Das Bernhard-Nocht-Institut für Tropenmedizin, das Forschungszentrum Borstel, Leibniz-Zentrum für Medizin und Biowissenschaften und das Heinrich-Pette-Institut, Leibniz-Institut für Experimentelle Virologie vereinen über 200 Jahre exzellente Infektionsforschung. Die weltweit anerkannten Institute beschäftigen gemeinsam etwa 400 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, die sich der Erforschung von parasitären, bakteriellen und virusassoziierten Infektionskrankheiten widmen. Das LCI nutzt fachliche Synergien und profitiert von der lokalen Nähe der Partnerinstitute, die einen schnellen wissenschaftlichen und methodischen Austausch ermöglicht.

Die LCI-Forschungsallianz bündelt regionale Kompetenzen und den internationalen Austausch zwischen den Leibniz-Instituten, umliegenden wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen und Universitäten. Damit stärkt das LCI nachhaltig die Infektionsforschung in der Metropolregion Hamburg.

 

Download LCI Flyer

 

***Jetzt anmelden: Das LCI-Symposium "Evolution & Infection" findet am 19. & 20. Januar 2017 im Bernhard-Nocht-Institut für Tropenmedizin statt.***

 

Leibniz-neu_DE